ATYP Foundation Commission


Check back soon for details for the 2018 Foundation Commission Applications.

Each year since 2013, Australian Theatre for Young People (ATYP) call for applications for the ATYP Foundation Commissions. These two commissions, one for 10-13 year old performers and one for 14-17 year old performers, are awarded each year to playwrights of any age. Both plays are published by our partners Playlab and will be produced as part of ATYP's mainstage season. It's a chance for us to see what great ideas are out there and to be introduced to the work of playwrights of all levels of experience from around the country. We're looking for two ideas that embrace the age of the performers and give young actors something substantial to sink their teeth into. Together, these commissions provide an unparalleled opportunity, developing a canon of sophisticated works for young actors that are performed in theatres and schools around the country for many years to come.

The finer details of the commissions are:  

-The 10-13 year old commission to develop a 45 – 55 minute script suitable to be performed by actors aged between 10 and 13.

-The 14-17 year old commission to develop a 70-90 minute script suitable to be performed by actors aged between 14 and 17.

The ATYP Foundation Commission is proudly supported by Playlab. Playlab is a national organisation based in Brisbane that specialises in brokering relationships between artists and companies, facilitating creative development in order to stimulate the production of new Australian plays.  Playlab supports playwrights from concept to publication.

The ATYP Foundation Commission recognises that tens of thousands of children aged between 10 and 17 participate in drama activities in Australia every year.  Despite this, very few scripts are commissioned and professionally developed for large casts of performers exclusively within these two age range ages.  The ATYP Foundation aims to generate a body of new work to engage and excite young artists and audiences across the country for years to come.

The ATYP Foundation was established in 2003.  Its role is to create and maintain a capital fund that can ensure ATYP’s future and enable it to reach many more young Australians. 

Past winners of the commission are:

2012 - Jessica Bellamy, 'Compass'

2013 - John Armstrong, 'Luke Lloyd Alienoid'

2014 - Sara West, 'The Trolleys'

2015- Matthew Whittet 'Fight with all your might the Zombies of tonight'

2016- Nick Atkins 'Wonder Fly' (10-13) and Michael Collins 'Impending Everyone' (14-17)

2017- Sam O'Sullivan 'Charlie Pilgrim (or a Beginners Guide to Time Travel)' (10-13) and Gretel Vella and Emme Hoy 'Bathory Begins' (14-17)